Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 17th, 2005

Last Friday I received an IM from a counterpart (from other site but on business trip to Penang). I don’t know him personally. Just so happened he was presenting his paper last Wednesday, in a meeting to us review board members. It went something like this.Counterpart : hi
DG : yes?
Counterpart : you are the one with the glasses right? In the meeting on Wednesday
DG : yes…
Counterpart : oh nothing. tis kinda awkward, was just taken aback by your looks…
DG : meaning?
*#$%&^# WTF??!! Am I so hideous How could people be offended by my appearance?*
DG : don’t really get what you mean … why are you taken aback by err… my looks?
Counterpart : your pretty…
*Stunned. OMG! Did I hear wrong?!! Truly feel flattered. But then, die! How should I respond? It’s been quite long I don’t get that already. –blush– tried to brush it off.*
DG : hahaha don’t kid me!!!
Counterpart : huh? hus kidding?
*aiyak! Backfired tim!!! I switched subject quickly.*
DG : how long will u be here for the transfer?
Counterpart : 3 months
Counterpart : been here for almost 2 months
*I kept quiet and didn’t continue the chat.*
Counterpart : i wasnt kidding…
*sei lar… he brought it up again. How? So, politely I accepted the compliment.*
DG : hahaha… then i’ll take that as a compliment
Counterpart : i dont know wat to say…
Counterpart : but when i saw you, wasnt really able to concentrate on my paper
*Die! Die! I hope it’s not what I’m thinking… What can I say except…*
DG : –blush– i am sorry

I wasn’t about to tell I’m married because I thought people could just be being friendly. Well, overly friendly in this case la. Moreover since there are no other advances, who am I to assume every person who says I’m pretty would make a move on me right? (:P online I may be vain but in person I am not so especially in front of strangers) I don’t want to embarrass myself for too being perasaan 自以为是… and also I don’t want to make it too awkward for others to descend from the stage 让人下不了台. So I thought just leave it at that, it will be forgotten. My, was I wrong!.

Yesterday morning, I received IM from him again but I kept my responses very short.

Counterpart : DG…
DG : anything?
Counterpart : has is always have to be about work? workaholic? you’re not in the middle of something are you? just a few mins of your time…
DG : ok
Counterpart : you’ve worked with –site– folks right? how do you find –country– guys and gals?
DG : err… that’s a tough question
DG : actually no difference with counterparts from other sites
Counterpart : oh
Counterpart : so wat do you do to get your mind off work? any particular hobby? interest?
DG : no time for hobby
Counterpart : really? you’re that busy eh?
Counterpart : even on weekends?
*Grinning. Hah! Great opportunity!*
DG : caring for my kids
Counterpart : oh, you’re married
Counterpart : yikes

DG: -smiley- with two children
Counterpart : your husband is so lucky… having a pretty and a hardworking wife
Counterpart : 2 kids eh? doesnt show
DG : hahah… I’m good at hiding the fabs
Counterpart : you know what, i was about to ask you out for coffee or something… now i know better – DG is happily married
Counterpart : ey, thanks for the time. seeya around
DG : nice meeting you anywayPhew! -_-“”

p/s: hahah… this may appear to be another vain post after the avatar but it’s just pure coincidence that it happened after I posted the avatar post. I swear!

Read Full Post »

… suppose somebody, of the opposite sex, gives you a flattering comment i.e. you are pretty/handsome? Although this question may apply to just anyone, I would especially be intereseted in how you married people out there respond. You would

A. Thank the person then keep quiet.
B. Thank the person then immediately tell him/her you are married.
C. Thank the person then continue flirting.
D. None of the above. I would … (describe how you would respond)

Let’s see how you respond, then I’ll blog about my experience and how I responded.

Read Full Post »